SUNNY SIDE UP by Oriana Kacicek

Before starting this blog, I didn’t like the photorealist painting style. To me, if you want something that looks like a photograph, take a photograph! But now that I’m getting to know photorealism, and myself, a little better… it has really grown on me! Take for example this painting by Oriana Kacicek

This painting looks Just like a photograph. Or does it? Every bubbled bit around the egg edge… every toasted nook and cranny of the bread slice… Photo perfect. But when we get to the butter, it’s a little more romantic than a photo of a pat of butter would be. The edges are a little bit softer, a little more inviting, a little more delicious!

5 thoughts on “SUNNY SIDE UP by Oriana Kacicek

  1. Rosa, I used to feel the same way about the photorealist painting style, but the more I see of it the more I appreciate it. And realistically I would much rather look at a painting of toast, butter and eggs than I would a photograph. This painting is really beautiful.

  2. ….and I’m hungry now too! That is amazing. I have always been intrigued with this style. Your skill as a painter would have to be perfect. Also, I have always loved the is it? or isn’t it? response a painting like this elicits! That is exciting to me!

Leave a Reply

